Go To Listenwise Listenwise
See All Posts

We are excited to share that we are collaborating with Facing History and Ourselves, a free resource that empowers teachers to think critically about history, for our Fall webinar series. See below for our upcoming webinars – free to register, and we’ll be recording these in case you can’t make the live webinar date.

Reserve your spot for one webinar or all three, for free!

 

September 25th, 3:30 PST/6:30 EST —
How to Talk About Bullying in Your Classroom

In this webinar you’ll learn how to build empathy in your classroom to better create a bullying-free environment. You’ll also learn how to talk about what bullying is and how it impacts others, how to support someone who is being bullied or create a positive response to bullying. Tune in to this webinar for a toolkit to prevent and confront bullying in your classroom

 

October 23rd 12:00 PST/3 pm EST —
Using Current Events with a SEL Lense

How do you engage students in current events? One ways it to look at the news with a social and emotional lense. Drawing from Facing History and Ourselves’ teaching resources and Listenwise’s audio collection you’ll learn how to use audio content, pedagogy, and teaching strategies to integrate social and emotional learning into your teaching of the news. This session will showcase lessons that prepare students to be thoughtful, engaged, connected, and compassionate citizens.

 

November 28th 4:30 PST/7:30 EST —
Pairing Listenwise and Facing History and Ourselves Resources

If you’re looking for a new way to bring history and current events to life with the lense of building critical thinking about the world, this webinar is for you! Facing History, a free resource that empowers teachers to think critically about history and the choices we make, has resources and strategies that help teachers engage students in civics, social studies, humanities and ELA. Listenwise has a broad collection of compelling public radio stories that connect to the same curriculum point. So how can we best use these two resources together? In this webinar you’ll learn how to use these two free websites in conjunction to prepare your next lessons.